English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.

Haughton le Skerne

Parish in the County of Durham


Of the eight townships of the parish of Haughton le Skerne, which otherwise belonged to Darlington Ward, three, Coatham Mundeville, Morton and Sadberge, were in Stockton Ward and are accordingly treated below (Surtees III336).

Major Settlements