English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.

Alberbury with Cardeston

Parish in the County of Shropshire


The parish is divided into the townships of Alberbury, Amaston, Benthall, Braggington, Cardeston, Eyton, Ford-in-Alberbury, Hayes, Loton, Rowton, Little Shrawardine and Wattlesborough; and the map on p.188 of VCH VIII, reproduced here on p. 17, shows the areas of these. (Great Wollaston, included on the VCH VIII map, is here treated as a separate parish).

Major Settlements

Other places in this Parish