English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.


Parish in the County of Shropshire


The parish contained 13 townships: Baschurch, Birch, Boreatton, Eyton, Fenemere, Merehouse, Newtown, Prescott, Stanwardine in the Fields, Stanwardine in the Wood, Walford, Weston Lullingfields, Yeaton.George Foxall drew a composite Tithe Award map, which he dated 1841–4. He marked the township boundaries on this, and the place-name material is presented here in accordance with those divisions.

Major Settlements