English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.

West Kirby

Parish in the County of Cheshire


The ancient parish of West Kirby contained the townships 1. Caldy (formerly Little Caldy), 2. Frankby, 3. Grange (formerly Great Caldy or Caldy Grange, now a c.p. including Newton cum Larton infra ), 4. Greasby (part of which lay in Thurstaston parish, cf. 279supra ); 5. Hoose (now included in Hoylake cum West Kirby c.p.), 6. West Kirby (now in Hoylake cum West Kirby c.p., which includes Hoose and Great Meols & Little Meols), 7, 8, Great Meols & Little Meols (cf. prec. In 1882, Orm2 ii 501, the old c.p. of Little Meols included the extra-parochial liberty of Hilbre 302infra ), 9. Newton cum Larton (now included in Grange c.p.). All these townships are now within the Urban District of Hoylake. Hilbre 302infra was originally part of West Kirby parish, cf. Little Meols supra .

Major Settlements