English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.


Parish in the County of Cheshire


The ancient parish of Prestbury originally included the parishes of Alderley, Gawsworth and Taxal 94, 66, 172supra , and the Chapelry of Macclesfield 106supra , v. Orm2 iii646, Renaud 1–20, ChetOS viii283n. These divisions isolate the townships 1. Bosley, 2. North Rode 54supra , and 3. Birtles, 4. Capesthorne, 5. Chelford, 6. Henbury cum Pexall, 7. Marton, 8. Siddington, 9. Lower Withington, 10. Old Withington 72supra . The rest of the parish contained 11. Adlington, 12. Bollington, 13. Butley (v. Prestbury infra ), 14. Fallibroome (v. Prestbury infra ), 15. Lyme Handley, 16. Mottram St Andrew (now a c.p. including Newton infra ), 17. Newton (v. prec), 18. Poynton with Worth, 19. Prestbury (now a c.p. including Butley and Fallibroome supra ), 20. Tytherington (now included in Macclesfield c.p. 113 supra ), 21. Upton (now included in Macclesfield c.p. 113 supra ), 22. Woodford (now included in Hazelgrove cum Bramhall c.p.).

Major Settlements

Other places in this Parish

Other OS name