English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.


Parish in the County of Cheshire


The ecclesiastical parish of Neston contained the townships 1. Ledsham (part now included in Ellesmere Port Municipal Borough, the rest a c.p.), 2. Leighton (now included in Neston cum Parkgate c.p.), 3. Ness, 4. Great Neston (now included in Neston cum Parkgate c.p.), 5. Little Neston cum Hargrave (Little Neston is now included in Neston cum Parkgate c.p., and the detached parts, Hargrave and Blakeley Brow, surrounded by Raby township, are included with Raby), 6. Raby (now a c.p., included, with Hargrave & Blakeley Brow from Little Neston supra , in Bebington Municipal Borough), 7. Thornton Hough (now a c.p. in Bebington Municipal Borough), 8. Willaston.

Major Settlements

Other places in this Parish