English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.


Parish in the County of Cheshire


Davenham parish contained the townships, 1. Bostock, 2. Davenham (now a c.p. including Eaton and part of Leftwich infra ), 3. Eaton (v. Davenham supra ), 4. Leftwich (now included in Davenham and Northwich c.ps., supra and 192 supra ), 5. Moulton, 6. Newall (now included in Lach Dennis c.p. 186 supra ), 7. Shipbrook (v. Whatcroft infra ), 8. Shurlach cum Bradford (now included in Rudheath c.p. 198 supra ), 9. Stanthorne, 10. Wharton (now included in Winsford c.p. 327 infra ), 11. Whatcroft (now a c.p. including Shipbrook supra ). Part of Rudheath Lordship 198supra was tithed in Davenham parish.

Major Settlements