English Place-name Society

Survey of English Place-Names

A county-by-county guide to the linguistic origins of England’s place-names – a project of the English Place-Name Society, founded 1923.


Parish in the County of Cheshire


The ecclesiastical parish of Acton contained the parochial chapelries of Church Minshull 154infra , Nantwich and Wrenbury 28, 113supra , parts of the townships of Newhall and Sound 101, 121supra , and the following townships, 1. Acton (including a detached portion of Dodcott cum Wilkesley 92supra ), 2. Aston iuxta Mondrum, 3. Austerson, 4. Baddington, 5. Brindley, 6. Burland, 7. Cholmondeston, 8. Coole Pilate (including a detached part of Audlem parish 82supra ), 9. Edleston, 10. Faddiley, 11. Henhull, 12. Hurleston, 13. Poole, 14. Stoke, 15. Worleston (now a c.p. including part of Alvaston 28supra ). Baddiley parish 124supra may have been part of Acton parish originally.

Major Settlements

Other places in this Parish

Other OS name